Join 3,512 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Sew (with) what?
June 7, 2010 5:53 PM   Subscribe

What sewing machine should I buy? I'm looking for easy and good value for my money.

I'm getting my first sewing machine. Could someone who knows these things tell me how to pick a good one? I want something straightforward, sturdy and newbie friendly. I see several machines on the market, but I'm not sure how to figure out, among the knobs, dials and computer controlled stitch patterns, what sort of model is best for my needs.

I am a newbie, with some minor skill hand sewing, who will mostly hem drapes and make PJs for her teddybear. Maybe there will be pirate flag making, and moderate tailoring.
posted by Phalene to Shopping (22 answers total) 30 users marked this as a favorite

Pfaff or Singer. Only. I still use a Pfaff from, i think, 1910 and according to the shop I get needles from what it can sew through is limited (within reason, I assume) by your motor.

Okay, I understand Brother makes some of those fancy ones with computers that can stitch your name and shit, but come on.
posted by cmoj at 6:10 PM on June 7, 2010 [1 favorite]

Are you willing to consider a used machine? You can frequently pick up a fairly recent model for pretty cheap -- good value for money. And if you're really looking for straightforward and sturdy, you might consider looking even further back to a semi-vintage model. A straight stitch, a zig zag, and a stretch stitch will do 95% of what you want a sewing machine for. You can find one on craigslist and take it to the sewing machine shop to be looked over and reconditioned, if necessary. If you spend $100-150 on one now and find you love it, you can always add (sewers never replaces sewing machines, they just add to the collection) a newer, more expensive one with heavy-duty bells and whistles.