Skip

How do I restart my career in IT while drowning in anxiety?
May 26, 2010 1:09 AM   Subscribe

How do I restart my career in IT while drowning in anxiety? In a nutshell, I burned out on IT last year in about August, after the second incredibly toxic work environment I'd had that year.

I'm running out of money, and whilst I am studying a new field full-time (Wine Technology, quite a change), am going to have to go back to work to support myself fairly shortly. And the only thing I really know and have recent(ish) skills in is Ruby on Rails programming.

I have done a lot of volunteer work with events, events organising, and the like, being reasonably active and visible in the .au open source community. I'm also active in my local twitter community, and am trying to overcome my anxiety and get active in my local ruby on rails brigade again.

I find myself in an awkward position. I have a lot of anxiety related to programming, and a lot of bad memories. I don't feel like I can program worth a cent, anymore. I don't know how to start programming again (for fun, even), let alone how to start doing it professionally again. I have been applying for jobs, and seem to be a good fit for most of the positions I've applied for. I just don't know that should I actually get a job offer ... how to get through a working day. Therapy isn't really an option at this time; at least not until after I get a job to pay for it. In the absence of that, what I want to know are the following:
- How do I get back into programming?
- How do I get around my anxiety relating to being in a workplace again?
- How do I get over feeling like a failure for starting a new career?
- How do I address my incredibly negative feelings about the industry?
and lastly:
- Is there some place other than a development job where I could use my skills?
posted by ysabet to Work & Money (9 answers total) 10 users marked this as a favorite

To answer just a few of your points: