Skip

How to make up for dodgy first degree?
April 10, 2010 1:11 PM   Subscribe

UK postgrad filter: How do I make up for a fairly mediocre first degree when applying for a postgraduate degree?

Background:

I graduated in 2009 with a fairly decent but not spectacular degree: 2.1 in English Literature and Language from Oxford. I would like to go onto postgraduate work, in a different field, and don't know how realistic my prospects are.

I would like to apply for an MA in Anthropology, particularly Cultural or Social Anthropology. I will not do so for at least another year, to give me enough time to read widely enough around the area, and to ensure that it's what I really want to do. I'm looking at one of the London unis-- Birkbeck, Goldsmiths, SOAS or LSE-- but I would consider elsewhere, including the States or Canada if I had funding.

Yet more background:

I cocked up my undergraduate degree through not working enough and being disengaged with the course-- I realised fairly soon when I got there that I was disinterested in large sections of the course and should probably drop out and apply again for a different subject, but didn't. (There were a range of reasons I didn't drop out, looming large amongst them: I was the first person in my family to go to uni and one of the very few from my local area to go to any university at all, and I didn't want to seem like a failure to them. I'm posting this anonymously because I'm embarrassed to admit this to people that know me.) After finishing my degree I was burnt out and miserable, and pretty much fled Oxford. I am about as far out of the academic loop as it is possible to be right now.

I had a range of marks during my degree-- firsts on some papers, mediocre 2.1s on others, terrible 2.2s on a few. I know I can get at least one glowing reference from a tutor I had there (who's quite famous, to boot).