Join 3,501 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Taking my bike x-country; we're both riding the bus.
March 9, 2010 11:47 AM   Subscribe

Trying new things! Two week, cross-country (and back) adventure on Greyhound. Level of difficulty: with a bike.

Right now the plan is for us (friend and I, both mid-20s gals) to get 15 day Greyhound Discovery passes and go from Nashville to Portland in late August. We'll do some couchsurfing and sightseeing to break up the massive amounts of bus-riding involved. I'm... okay with that idea.

Then I hit upon the thought of taking bicycles along on the trip for mobility, independence, and exercise. That got me really excited.

I'm new to both long distance bus-riding and cycling, but it sounds reasonable to buy a beater (~$100) on craigslist, spend between now and August getting familiar with it, make a soft carrying case for "luggage mode", and assemble/disassemble the bike when we stop in a city for anything more than a couple hours.

Is this possible? Realistic?

What else should I be considering?
posted by itesser to Travel & Transportation (8 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

The biggest problem I see with your plan is that your 'beater' may not be able to withstand the kinds of abuses that sort of transport might heap on it. If you're a decent mechanic, you might be able to ensure that all the cables are in top-notch condition, and threads on pedals are okay (not frozen/stripped); but have ever watched how luggage is handled on a bus? They'll be tossing heavy suitcases into your soft cased bikes - and I just dunno...
For me, it adds an unnecessary level of complexity.
posted by dbmcd at 11:50 AM on March 9, 2010