Join 3,425 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Is there any way of asking if I will be awarded a stipend for my work, while avoiding awkwardness?
February 27, 2010 6:58 PM   Subscribe

Is there any way of asking if I will be awarded a stipend for my work, while avoiding awkwardness?

I'm an undergrad at university. Last year, I entered a competition within my department to redesign their annual conference promotion campaign and won. Though it wasn't stated in the competition rules, I was awarded a good stipend. They ran the competition again this year and I entered and won again. However, this time around, no one is saying anything about the stipend.

I've done a lot of free design work in the past and I'm certainly not opposed to volunteer work. In fact, I'm more likely to work for free, especially for people I know, than I am to take or charge money for my work (which is probably why I'm so poor, haha) But in this case, the redesign project involves a great deal of work. Essentially, I am designing nearly everything they are using to promote their conference, even custom logos, for print, email, and web. For this year's entry, I even went to the trouble of creating some of the fancier elements of the design from scratch, rather than using stock ornaments.

As a cash-strapped undergrad, I was really counting on the stipend. No one has actually said I'm not getting one, but no one is saying that they are working on it, or it's being processed or anything like that. Last year, they were very upfront about it and it was handled very quickly and early in the project timeline. I would like to inquire about it, but I'm quite shy of my superiors. I don't want them to think that I am being demanding. At the same time, I'd really like to know if they plan on giving me anything, because being left hanging, even while they are handing me orders left and right, is very confusing and as I said, I do need the money.