Join 3,380 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

I want to drastically improve my photography.
February 10, 2010 4:54 PM   Subscribe

I'd like to improve my photography (DSLR). I want to learn. I'm in Portland, OR. I could REALLY use some advice!

Ugh. I dread explaining this because I'd rather pull my own teeth than explain my vision... but it's pertinent to the question at hand, so here goes.

I'm legally blind. I have an eye for photography, but I'm feeling stuck, as if my skills have hit a plateau and I can't figure out how to reach that next level (corny as that phrase is).

What helped you to master your DSLR? ...beyond the trial and error, naturally. I've been doing that for a few years but I feel I'm progressing too slowly. I'm still using my camera more as a glorified point and shoot. Click my username for links to my photos if you'd like to get a feel for where I'm at, photography wise.

I want to master aperture, shutter speeds, ISO, use of light, etc etc etc. I'm guessing that many people learn this stuff through trial and error. Take a shot. See it on your camera's screen. Change your settings and try again. With my vision, the camera display only gives me a vague idea of what I've captured. I never really know if I got it right until I see it on my monitor at home. I think that has a lot to do with why I don't feel like I'm learning enough through trial and error. I'm definitely developing my eye for photography, but I'm not mastering the camera at all. And I really REALLY very badly want to change that.