Join 3,519 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Coding is coding, but it's not coding.
February 10, 2010 9:35 AM   Subscribe

How can I change my type of thought? I am a computer programmer... career and hobby. Just because I can look at a problem and conjure a procedural solution, it doesn't mean I can create a great website. I wanna be a web guy. Hope me.

I have a knack for computers, especially programming. I have been programming and working with PCs for more than 30 years.
I want to create web pages and sites. I have done a couple of sites for friends and businesses of friends but I don't have the zing that really makes it go.

I can write software from the detailed planning stages or just blindly, from the seat of the pants into complex machines that run complex processes.

I look at a website template that I want to modify for a friend's business and it becomes an insane chore. The mental pain and difficulty of pulling the creativity out of my mind is excruciating. I pretty much know what I want and how it should look, but it just won't come off the tips of my fingers.
I stumble over which editor to use... I want the editor to "do it for me". I photo-manipulate the graphic for a logo and end up not saving the intermediate step that I really need later on. I don't know what I'm doing!

I have read books and web tutorials on web design and pages, but the spark is not there.
When I program, it comes naturally to me... I see the code in my mind... the HTML on the other hand, is just a blur.