Join 3,561 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

These boots were made for...
January 23, 2010 8:13 AM   Subscribe

I need some new boots. I need some boots that will keep me warm and dry in extended periods of standing around outside, all night long on concrete. I would like them to be warm and durable, I want the best!

I work in the film business and often am called to stand around in the cold, dark, damp of night. Sometimes it is raining, sometimes we make rain. Sometimes it is snowing, sometimes we make snow. I have worked at temperatures well below zero for hours at a time.

I have many items of footwear, and feel pretty happy with each one, but the cold weather boot has eluded me for my entire career. I even have a pair of Northern Outfitters moon boots rated to -50 below zero (no support and absurd looking)

I had a pair of Columbia boots that I was pretty happy with, but they just expired, so I am looking for a new boot.

I have been told time and time again that Danner makes the best boot int he world. I wanted to know what MeFi thinks?
posted by silsurf to Clothing, Beauty, & Fashion (16 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

I'd suggest that no matter what boot you're wearing, the socks are just as important. Visit an outdoor outfitters and come up with a combination of socks that works for you. A really good thin inner sock (silk or man-made fibres) coupled with a layer or two of warm ski/hiking socks makes a huge difference for me when I'm outside for extended periods in a Canadian winter.

I also know people who swear by the insoles that have a reflective liner.

And while you're at the outfitting place, see if they have toe-warmers. Small chemical pouches that activate to create heat and keep toes nice and warm for hours. Highly recommended.

Some combination of the above will work with any boot, at which point you can focus on comfort/support and dryness.
posted by valleys at 8:28 AM on January 23, 2010