Join 3,553 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Linux need not apply.
January 6, 2010 2:11 AM   Subscribe

Will Apple Care if I'm using Linux?

I have been using Macs now for almost 10 years. I know the ins and outs of working with Apple when I need their help. I have learned to always get a computer with AppleCare because the few extra bucks are worth the attention they give you when you have a problem. For some people, thats not a big deal, but for someone who doesn't want ANYTHING wrong with his computer, its worth it. So I'm well versed in what to say and more importantly "not say" when dealing with the "Geniuses" at the store or their reps on the phone.

NOW...

This is the only question remaining before I make the move to a full linux system from a os x/linux system.

What happens if I have a computer, its covered by applecare...and my only OS is a type of linux? Will they say its not covered since linux controls the hardware differently than OS X? I'm not talking about "My pixels are dying" or "my keys are loose", I'm talking "My computer is dead issues".

I can reasonably guess...but I do not know for sure.

Does anybody have experience regarding this? Like I said, I can make a reasonable guess, but I DO NOT KNOW FOR SURE.

Any help?
posted by hal_c_on to Computers & Internet (11 answers total)

If you're concerned, pull the HD & wipe it.

Of course, this can be a tad tricky on a mac sometimes.
posted by pharm at 2:39 AM on January 6, 2010

The iCenters in my neighborhood are comfortable with Linux-only systems, as long as you only bug them about real hardware defects. If they need to run diagnostic OSX tools they will boot up a custom CD anyway, even with native OSX installations.