<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
    xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
     xmlns:admin="http://webns.net/mvcb/"
     xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
     xmlns:rdf="http://www.w3.org/1999/02/22-rdf-syntax-ns#">
	<channel> 

      <title>Comments on: example.com in my site statistics</title>
      <link>http://ask.metafilter.com/14153/examplecom-in-my-site-statistics/</link>
      <description>Comments on Ask MetaFilter post example.com in my site statistics</description>
	  	  <pubDate>Tue, 18 Jan 2005 09:17:01 -0800</pubDate>
      <lastBuildDate>Tue, 18 Jan 2005 09:17:01 -0800</lastBuildDate>
      <language>en-us</language>
	  <docs>http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss</docs>
	  <ttl>60</ttl>

<item>
  	<title>Question: example.com in my site statistics</title>
  	<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/14153/examplecom-in-my-site-statistics</link>	
  	<description>Why do I have so many referrer entries for www.example.com in the web stats for my site? &lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt; For about the past month, example.com has been the number one referrer to my site.  My assumption is that a comment spammer has written a script to post to my comments form (I&apos;m using WordPress, by the way) and is manually setting the referrer to cover his/her tracks. Is that what&apos;s going on here?</description>
  	<guid isPermaLink="false">post:ask.metafilter.com,2005:site.14153</guid>
  	<pubDate>Tue, 18 Jan 2005 09:03:23 -0800</pubDate>
  	<dc:creator>fletchmuy</dc:creator>
	
	<category>stats</category>
	
	<category>statistics</category>
	
	<category>referrer</category>
	
	<category>internet</category>
	
	<category>website</category>
	
	<category>spam</category>
	
</item>
<item>
  	<title>By: andrew cooke</title>
  	<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/14153/examplecom-in-my-site-statistics#243714</link>	
  	<description>it&apos;s referrer spamming.  they&apos;re hoping for click-throughs via your referrer logs.</description>
  	<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2005:site.14153-243714</guid>
  	<pubDate>Tue, 18 Jan 2005 09:17:01 -0800</pubDate>
  	<dc:creator>andrew cooke</dc:creator>
</item>
<item>
  	<title>By: fletchmuy</title>
  	<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/14153/examplecom-in-my-site-statistics#243722</link>	
  	<description>Who would benefit from me clicking through to &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.example.com&quot;&gt;www.example.com&lt;/a&gt;? I don&apos;t see how anyone can profit from someone viewing that page.</description>
  	<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2005:site.14153-243722</guid>
  	<pubDate>Tue, 18 Jan 2005 09:22:38 -0800</pubDate>
  	<dc:creator>fletchmuy</dc:creator>
</item>
<item>
  	<title>By: brownpau</title>
  	<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/14153/examplecom-in-my-site-statistics#243731</link>	
  	<description>It&apos;s a malicious bot, probably an email address harvester or a comment spam bot, spoofing its originating referrer. I get similar bots with &amp;quot;iaea.org&amp;quot; or even Google as their fake referrers.</description>
  	<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2005:site.14153-243731</guid>
  	<pubDate>Tue, 18 Jan 2005 09:32:21 -0800</pubDate>
  	<dc:creator>brownpau</dc:creator>
</item>
<item>
  	<title>By: fletchmuy</title>
  	<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/14153/examplecom-in-my-site-statistics#243732</link>	
  	<description>That makes sense, brownpau, thanks.</description>
  	<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2005:site.14153-243732</guid>
  	<pubDate>Tue, 18 Jan 2005 09:33:59 -0800</pubDate>
  	<dc:creator>fletchmuy</dc:creator>
</item>
<item>
  	<title>By: Caviar</title>
  	<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/14153/examplecom-in-my-site-statistics#243758</link>	
  	<description>It&apos;s probably just the default for whatever piece of code they co-opted to do the comment spamming.</description>
  	<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2005:site.14153-243758</guid>
  	<pubDate>Tue, 18 Jan 2005 10:47:26 -0800</pubDate>
  	<dc:creator>Caviar</dc:creator>
</item>
<item>
  	<title>By: revgeorge</title>
  	<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/14153/examplecom-in-my-site-statistics#243774</link>	
  	<description>example.com, example.net and example.org are reserved by &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.ietf.org/rfc/rfc2606.txt&quot;&gt;RFC 2606&lt;/a&gt;.  Nice to see blog spammers respecting standards, I guess.</description>
  	<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2005:site.14153-243774</guid>
  	<pubDate>Tue, 18 Jan 2005 11:00:13 -0800</pubDate>
  	<dc:creator>revgeorge</dc:creator>
</item>
<item>
  	<title>By: andrew cooke</title>
  	<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/14153/examplecom-in-my-site-statistics#243839</link>	
  	<description>oh, ok, sorry.</description>
  	<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2005:site.14153-243839</guid>
  	<pubDate>Tue, 18 Jan 2005 12:26:34 -0800</pubDate>
  	<dc:creator>andrew cooke</dc:creator>
</item>
<item>
  	<title>By: xmutex</title>
  	<link>http://ask.metafilter.com/14153/examplecom-in-my-site-statistics#243892</link>	
  	<description>Any tips on battling referer spam? Assume full access to Apache confguration. I have this crap all over my logs, too.</description>
  	<guid isPermaLink="false">comment:ask.metafilter.com,2005:site.14153-243892</guid>
  	<pubDate>Tue, 18 Jan 2005 13:26:01 -0800</pubDate>
  	<dc:creator>xmutex</dc:creator>
</item>

    </channel>
</rss>
