Skip

How can I get paid as a nonprofit writer or editor? Do I need an agent?
January 11, 2005 9:16 AM   Subscribe

I'm a writer, in addition to being a librarian. I'd like to do more writing and get paid more for it than I have been getting paid, perhaps work on larger projects. Do I need an agent? Could I benefit from an agent? [+]

A lot of the writing I've been doing has been articles in professional magazines, newsletters, journals, and the like [in addition to what I do on my web sites and for other web sites]. I've edited two books, one academicky and one more mainstream but still sort of small-press type stuff. I do a lot of public speaking on the "library circuit" and bring in okay supplemental cash doing that. My library job ends in a few months and I'd like to spend some time editing and/or writing a larger [non-fiction] book with a more popular publisher. I don't expect to make a living off of it, but I wouldn't mind getting paid something. I'm okay with writing proposals and talking to industry types, but I wonder if this is the type of thing that normal people have agents do? My specific questions are:

- Do I need an agent? Do people still have agents? How specifically is an agent helpful?
- For anyone that has an agent, has that been worthwhile or worth the money?
- If I get an agent, do I need to cut them in on the other income-generating things that I do that are not directly linked to my writing, like public speaking, industry writing, etc.?
posted by jessamyn to Work & Money (5 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

Having an agent is helpful, and depending on the medium you wish to write in an agent can be almost necessary. Keep in mind that getting an agent (or at least a good agent) isn't exactly easy.