Join 3,438 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

What to do when COBRA health insurance runs out.
January 10, 2005 3:21 AM   Subscribe

My COBRA runs out tomorrow. I've applied to a private carrier and was declined already. I was under the impression that if there wasn't a 63 day gap in coverage, they had to insure me. [mi]

I've applied with another carrier already. If they decline me too, can I appeal the first one? Can I appeal the second one? Has anyone ever done that and what was the best way? I'm just looking for a high deductible plan with either mental health coverage included or a rider I can add to it. I don't want to discuss my medical history, albeit it's nothing salacious; I just want to know what resources I have to get insurance, now that I what I thought was the correct procedure is wrong

I am employed, but I'm a contractor. So no benefits for me.
posted by pieoverdone to Health & Fitness (6 answers total)

You should be under protection of HIPA, the Health Insurance Portability Act. Call and ask - when I went into contracting, I did the same thing and wasn't turned down so much as "encouraged not to apply here." They had good rates, so I went with them anyway, but it took some pushing.
posted by plinth at 3:35 AM on January 10, 2005

You might check state laws to see what happens if you happen to own a small company. I'm in the same boat, and I had to start a company just to get coverage.

Starting a company is not hard, and in my case was well worth it. I'm now with an insurance company that initially denied me individual coverage.

One thing, though. I did have to fill out a ton of forms, which helped determine the rate. This included a long medical history of all parties involved.

Have you found an insurance broker? They might be able to help, and they don't take as much off the top as you might think.
posted by bh at 4:22 AM on January 10, 2005