How to encapsulate tiny objects, with the option of removing the capsule later?
November 3, 2009 9:13 AM   Subscribe

Mad-scientist-filter: I need to encapsulate 1.5mm pellets in a thin, non-toxic, preferably natural material that could later be mechanically removed (example).

I would prefer that the capsule could come off cleanly. A difference from the example above is that the capsules would be removed from each pellet individually, one-at-a-time. (Why? Because I'm a mad scientist is why. Mwuhahahahaha.)

For the sake of visualization, let's say that I...
- am going to encapsulate nonpareils,
- have basic laboratory supplies,
- have any necessary safety equipment, and
- have $500 for other expenses.

What I'd actually like to encapsulate is similar enough to nonpareils that this would be an acceptable working model.

Have any thoughts on how I might do this? Wild speculation (that attempts to answer the question!) is entirely welcome. I'm brainstorming here-- or rather, storming your brains.
posted by zennie to Grab Bag (13 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

How close does the encapsulation need to be to the tiny object? The smallest gelatin capsults I can quickly google for sale are size 4, which are 13.4 mm x 5 mm. Less than $20 for 1000.
posted by cobaltnine at 9:23 AM on November 3, 2009

It needs to be on or nearly on the object. Plus, despite the individual de-capsulation mentioned, having to put individual tiny objects into individual tiny capsules would not be so good.
posted by zennie at 9:30 AM on November 3, 2009

Plastisol coatings might work. The hardware store version is called Plastigrip. You dip metal tool handles in it and Voila! Total tool using comfort. Some versions are heat cured. The big issue would be whether or not the coating adheres to the object. A little WD40 or vegetable oil might solve this problem. You are pretty cryptic about other important parameters. Is this supposed to be edible?