Join 3,373 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Can anyone suggest interesting careers for a physicist hoping to make a good impact on society?
October 29, 2009 10:30 PM   Subscribe

Can anyone suggest interesting careers for a physicist hoping to make a good impact on society?

Currently, I'm a theoretical physics graduate student at an Ivy League school and for various reasons I don't want to discuss, I'm quitting and getting out with the MA. The fact is that I already have two bachelor's degrees in physics and EE as well as a master of engineering from the other university in Cambridge, MA (not Harvard), so I don't feel like the PhD would add too much.

I've been researching career paths and clean energy is an obvious choice. I'm good at modelling and I can see that being a useful skill in the clean energy industry. Another option would be health care. I have a friend does modelling at a health care company. I like clean energy better than health care since it's a newer field with less bureaucracy.

Besides these two, I'm having trouble coming up with other ideas. My criteria are basically this: 1) I want to use my scientific skills and 2) I want to work on projects with broad social impact. Intellectually challenging work would be a plus. I'm willing to do some more school, though probably not a whole another PhD.

I welcome any suggestions, as long as they fit the two criteria I mentioned.
posted by qmechanic to Work & Money (10 answers total) 14 users marked this as a favorite

I'm sure your skills as a researcher would be valued at many green energy R&D startups, especially in photovoltaics or advanced-drive vehicles. Also, the US government is starting to really open the taps in terms of funding - if you have an idea and maybe some qualified friends, apply for a grant from the DOE and start your own company!

Given your modelling abilities, I'm sure you could find a place working at a thinktank like the RAND Corporation.