Join 3,424 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Where can learn about product management?
October 7, 2009 7:44 PM   Subscribe

Where can learn about product management?

I'm thinking of making a career switch into product management, and I'm looking for websites, classes in the NYC area, etc. that will help me figure out if this is a viable next step.

My background is in technical project management and marketing, so I've been exposed to pieces of the product management process, but developing a product end-to-end appeals to me, and the job descriptions I'm most drawn to are in this area.

Are you a product manager? How did you get started? What do you love/hate/tolerate about your job?
posted by snickerdoodle to Work & Money (2 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

To paint it broadly, and this is not quite what you asked, the main difference between what you're doing now and what you'd do as a product manager is the financials. I hated them, but I got good quickly, because I would have lost my job otherwise. Now I can justify churn rate forecasts with one hand behind my back. Also, I would rather not.

I worked as a Web product manager in NY for a while. I actually came to it from librarianship (to being a product manager for a database sold to medical libraries) and got a great opportunity and did most of my learning on the job. To be honest, I tried a bunch of books and didn't learn much of use from them. I learned the most from working with people who knew more than I did, especially about the financial end of things -- people who had MBAs and who were patient and expected a lot. Find these people now.