Join 3,415 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

How long could a person live after having his or her arm cut off?
September 5, 2009 3:00 AM   Subscribe

How long could a person live after having his or her arm cut off?

I was watching my DVD of Kill Bill, for about the umpteenth time, and I wondered about the scene where Uma Thurman's character cuts off the arm of a pretty lady at the shoulder. The lady has a lot of blood spurting out of her shoulder, and she screams at bit, but by the end of the movie seems pretty OK about losing her arm.

Does anyone, maybe with some medical knowledge, have a good idea about how long a person could live after having an arm cut off before dying of loss of blood, or of shock, or probably both? In the movie, she lives at least 30 minutes, probably more, which I reckon could never happen. What do other people think?
posted by edavidoff to Health & Fitness (15 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

I am not a doctor, but I reckon the primary issue with the loss of a limb is blood loss. (The secondary issue, further down the road would be infection, I'm guessing.) If the person is able to take measures to stave off the blood loss, by applying pressure or a tourniquet, you could live longer than one might think.

If you're not treating it AT ALL, you would bleed out in a matter of minutes—you simply don't have that much blood in you, and it pumps through rather quickly.

(Remember the favorite story of the guy who amputated his own arm after a boulder fell onto it whilst hiking. He then hiked OUT of the canyon to find help.)

Back to Kill Bill, if she wraps it and has pressure applied, yeah, she might make it that half hour.
posted by disillusioned at 3:18 AM on September 5, 2009 [1 favorite]

By the way, shock and loss of blood are basically the same thing. I can't think of anything else that would kill you (in the short term) if you lost an arm.
posted by A Thousand Baited Hooks at 3:43 AM on September 5, 2009