December 19, 2004
9:06 AM   RSS feed for this thread Subscribe

Online credit card scams...[+]
posted by ac to (5 comments total)
A friend of mine signed up for this, giving them all his info, ssn, bank info, etc. What in the world is this site? I see ads for this stuff all over the place. What's the catch? How to cancel? They don't respond to e-mails and there is no phone number. He's not received his card yet. How is it a "credit" card if they don't check your credit? And no Visa/MC, etc logo?? thanks.
posted by ac at 9:07 AM on December 19, 2004


Explained here

I'm not sure it's a scam, but "it can only be used for retail purchases through the USA Credit sponsored website and catalogs".
posted by cillit bang at 9:14 AM on December 19, 2004


How do you think this can be cancelled, will they try to take the $150 membership fee from his bank acct? I can't find a phone no. anywhere.
posted by ac at 9:27 AM on December 19, 2004


A bit more info here.

I am not an expert in any sense, but my impression is that this is at best a very inefficent way to build up one's credit and, at worst, a total scam.

The point of this card is not really to make purchases easier, but to help establish a good/better credit history by holding down a credit card and making a few purchases on it. Your friend is basically paying $150 up front to do so, which is pretty steep. As the ftc link above explains, he could do so by applying for a small loan or trying to get a more "legit" credit card from a local bank that is secured by linking it to a checking/savings account.

The fact that its so difficult to get in touch with them is a real red flag that this is probably a scam. I imagine that your friend is out $150, unless he calls his bank immediately and can get them to cancel any transfers to USA Platinum. I would tell your friend to do this, and to send USA Platinum emails saying that he is cancelling.

Good luck.
posted by googly at 10:26 AM on December 19, 2004


shepd@server:~$ whois usaplatinumcreditline.com | todos > blah.txt

Registrant:
Commonwealth Marketing Group (URYEPTAPWD)
1 MILLENNIUM DR
UNIONTOWN, PA 15401-6408
US

Domain Name: USAPLATINUMCREDITLINE.COM

Administrative Contact:
Credit, USA (WGUXOCDOGI) murrabp@usacdt.com
1 MILLENNIUM DR
UNIONTOWN, PA 15401-6408
US

7244373707

Record expires on 12-Feb-2007.
Record created on 12-Feb-2004.
Database last updated on 19-Dec-2004 14:39:00 EST.
posted by shepd at 11:40 AM on December 19, 2004


« Older I ordered something from an on...   |   My SO and I need gifts for our... Newer »

You are not logged in, either login or create an account to post comments



Related Questions
How to Grow Good Credit in 2008 November 26, 2007
Stupid, innocent credit card mistake causing... June 11, 2007
Reward me for shopping! April 22, 2007
I've paid off all my credit cards.... now what? March 7, 2007
You've been approved! January 6, 2007