Join 3,374 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Is Yakult worth it?
August 30, 2009 3:53 PM   Subscribe

What have been your experiences of taking Yakult?

Is drinking this stuff really worth it? I don't travel abroad, don't eat stuff past the sell by date and have pretty regular bowel movements. I've been drinking it for about 6 months now, and have noticed no difference whatsoever.

How did drinking Yakult (or any such drink, I guess) actually affect your life? I'm looking for general answers about how this stuff affected you, in a positive/negative way.
posted by Solomon to Health & Fitness (11 answers total)

I grew up drinking Yakult... It's tasty.

But I don't think it helped in anyway. For comparison, after I started eating yogurt everyday, I could feel a positive difference, e.g., bowel movements and a general sense of well-being.

Oh, I forgot to add... These days, I also find Yakult too sweet for my taste.
posted by jchaw at 3:57 PM on August 30, 2009

It doesn't actually do anything so any positive/negative affects people report are mostly placebo effects. If you like it, keep on drinking it. If you don't like it, don't feel like drinking it helps you in any important way.
posted by Justinian at 3:59 PM on August 30, 2009

It messed with my stomach. Nothing major, just a lot of activity that otherwise I never notice.
posted by edmz at 4:07 PM on August 30, 2009

I used to drink that stuff all the time - it's delicious! - but, looking back, I can't think why. It's quite expensive too, so if you're after some of that good intestinal flora, just go with a low-fat natural yoghurt.
posted by turgid dahlia at 4:08 PM on August 30, 2009

I like the taste, but it does nothing.
posted by Flitcraft at 5:17 PM on August 30, 2009

I'm confused, is it supposed to do anything beneficial?