Skip

How can I, a 17 year old college student, get in to 18+ shows in the Boston area?
August 22, 2009 10:23 PM   Subscribe

Why are so many shows in Boston 18+? And is there any chance I could get into those shows as a 17 year old college student?

Specific venues I'm referring to are The Middle East, Great Scott, Paradise Rock Club, and House of Blues. There's some really great artists playing at those places soon that I'd love to see. If I were to just show security my student ID card (which has no birthdate, but shows that I am a college student), would they accept that?

Also, while I'm on the subject, why is Grizzly Bear at the Orpheum Theater so expensive?
posted by Bahro to Travel & Transportation around Boston, MA (16 answers total)

And is there any chance I could get into those shows as a 17 year old college student?

It's unlikely, but possible. I got into an 18+ show when I was a 17-year-old college student by just showing my driver's license and asking nicely. The bouncer looked it over pretty carefully -- which is odd, because who has a fake ID that says they're 17? -- and then he let me in even though I was underage. (This was at the Avalon, though, which is gone now...)

If I were to just show security my student ID card (which has no birthdate, but shows that I am a college student), would they accept that?

I don't think so. An ID without an age seems like it would be a pretty clear red flag for a place with an age restriction.
posted by danb at 10:39 PM on August 22, 2009

The Avalon is gone? Bummer.

I imagine that there are so many 18+ shows because they want to get all the college business, but they don't want lots of high school kids coming in.

I was under-18 in Boston way too long ago, but I do recall being able to get into a few of those shows. I have no idea how that happened, though (I didn't have a fake) and again, it was over a decade ago.
posted by lunasol at 11:23 PM on August 22, 2009