Need gluten-free, milk-free delicious cookies!
August 9, 2009 10:10 PM   Subscribe

Need gluten-free, milk-free delicious cookies!

A friend of mine was just complaining about the not!deliciousness of her gluten-free, milk-free cookies. (She can't eat gluten or dairy products for health reasons.) Bad cookies are a blemish upon this good earth and I refuse to believe that all of the human race's creativity and desire for delicious cookies has not come up with a good cookie recipe with those restrictions. Prove me right and give some recipes! :D
posted by flawsekno to Health & Fitness (14 answers total) 8 users marked this as a favorite

Do biscotti count as cookies? I love this recipe for flourless chocolate biscotti.
posted by sanitycheck at 10:20 PM on August 9, 2009 [1 favorite]

I was sitting here thinking about your question. I'm a terrible cook, myself, but I got to wondering whether it might be possible to make a decent cookie using rice flour. So I did some googling and came up with this page.

Don't have the slightest idea how they'd come out, but it sounds pretty good.
posted by Chocolate Pickle at 10:59 PM on August 9, 2009

Uncle Eddie's Vegan Cookies are some of the best cookies I've ever had. I'm not sure about the gluten though.
posted by Mrs. Buck Turgidson at 11:22 PM on August 9, 2009

No Bakery makes vegan and wheat-free cookies.
posted by brain at 11:36 PM on August 9, 2009

I don't have a recipe to recommend, but a resource instead. Check out the foodlab group on yahoogroups. Lots of people there who will have great advice on what you can substitute for maximum yumminess.
posted by Joh at 11:36 PM on August 9, 2009

This book was given to me when I started experimenting with gluten-free eating. There are cookies on the cover, but I haven't tried them specifically. I have tried some other baked goods though and they turned out yummy (skillet corn bread and scones).