Thanks for the pageviews, no thanks for the spam.
August 5, 2009 6:26 AM Subscribe
I have been getting weird Wordpress referrer spam the last 4 days, but there are no injections or anything of the like on my site.
I have a site running wordpress. No comments or users, I'm using it as a simple CMS.
I'm using the StatPress plugin to check out who is coming to the site. This morning, I noticed an abnormally large number of visitors the last few days.
People seem to be visiting pages like mysite.com/?myfjkfosljfsfjd (NB : not a string I've seen, just an example). When clicked, it will go to my homepage. Checking the source, there is nothing out of the ordinary (no spam links, etc). If you google that end string by itself, you get one result, to my site, with a summary that lists a whole bunch of viagra type words.
Any idea what is going on, and how I can stop this?
I was running 2.8.2, upgraded to 2.8.3 this morning.
You can get my details from my userpage if you want specifics.
posted by tip120 to computers & internet (5 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite
But the summary with viagra-y results is odd, esp. if you're saying the Google results are pointing to your page but contain words and info that aren't found on your WP site. Can you post the string/resulting viagra-y example so we can take a closer look?
And what's the offending IP? Places like httpbl may have some info on the offending IP and their methods.
posted by bhance at 1:59 PM on August 5, 2009