Join 3,523 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Story problems.
July 16, 2009 10:08 AM   Subscribe

Web Designers! Tell Me Of The Dragons You Hath Slain!

We all remember the fun we had with this question. As was suggested to me in that thread, I have been spending as much of my time as possible learning on my own. (Concentration has been mostly on Web Design) Unfortunately, the countless books, articles, and blogs I've read are not completely complimentary to my learning style.

Of course I'm gaining knowledge and skills with these, but I'm looking to sharpen this particular sword as quickly as humanly possible. And for me, that mean hearing anecdotes, stories, and real world challenges from people who live within this realm every day. I understand and process information most effectively when it is wrapped in a pretty little narrative. (Probably why I majored in English in the first go round.)

I'm looking for descriptions of problems you've encountered working in web design. If you found a solution, you can feel free to share it. Or not. Be as detailed as you like.

Also, I'd like to hear about your Eureka! moments as you were learning. What made a particular concept sink into that soft, mushy melon of yours? What was that first baffling problem you had that first day? What issue just keeps coming up and won't go away? Just vent if you like; I guarantee I will mine something out of it.

Inevitably, someone will ask for a clarification on what I mean by "web design". I understand that it is a broad and multi-faceted discipline. If you think you have what I'm looking for here, then you do. I am deferring to your experience here. Let's feel free to err on the side of this-is-probably-what-he-wants-even-if-he-doesn't-know-it.
posted by SinisterPurpose to Computers & Internet (10 answers total) 22 users marked this as a favorite