Join 3,551 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Is it possible to volunteer voice-work?
June 3, 2009 11:50 AM   Subscribe

Getting a job in the voiceover industry is hard, and hardly pays. I get that. But what are some arenas in which I can give it away for free?

I did voice over bumpers for a local PBS TV station in college, did work at an NPR affiliate at the same time. The only acting I've done is for friends' film projects in college and for fun, but it's possible I wasn't terrible at it. Even with a little experience under my belt, I know that the odds of getting work in the field are slim.

Thing is, I'm okay with not getting a dime, but I'd still like to use (and hone) my talent if I could. I just don't know where to offer it--I'm stuck between feeling like a singer who'd be happy finding a place in a small community choir and feeling like an arrogant jerk who thinks he's so pretty he should offer to flex around places because his face is nice.

I have some experience sound engineering and have fairly good equipment. I'd prefer to do something digitally rather than live, and if live, behind a curtain rather than in front of it.

Things I've looked into/tried:
  • Three years ago I contacted Futurismic offering to do audio versions of their short stories for free. Jeremy Lyons was busy, but liked my sample. They were only doing a story a month, so he told me it might take awhile to get match me with something. He never got back to me, and for a time there were audio versions at the site, largely read by the author. (I wasn't bitter, I just assumed that when they started asking, the authors thought, "That's a great idea, but why don't I read my own work instead?" He was also doing this as a hobby, so I don't begrudge the irregular emails).