Join 3,520 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

Is this powerbook worth the money?
May 5, 2009 7:57 PM   Subscribe

Is this 2002 titanium PowerBook g4 worth the money?

I'm strapped for cash, but I've got the opportunity to purchase it for about $300. I'm a freelance graphic designer, and I'd like to install CS3 on it (if it'll install on a PowerPC) but will really only use it on vacation and not for intense tasks.

Assume it runs fine on Tiger, needs a new battery and needs a memory upgrade (to 1G). Think it's a good buy or not worth the $$?
posted by shopefowler to Computers & Internet (12 answers total)

Your call, but I wouldn't. CS3 would be pretty intense for a TiBook, and you're very quickly going to hit the wall of what you can do with a non-Intel processor these days.

Also, $300 plus upgrade fees is a lot of money for a 7 year old computer... even a Mac. You can get a new laptop for that (albeit a crappy one). I'd take a pass.
posted by captainawesome at 8:04 PM on May 5, 2009

Not worth $300. Doubly not worth it if you need a new battery, memory (which can be expensive for old macs - I spent $50 on a single 512M chip for an old Digital Audio powermac G4 not so long ago).

What CPU? I think the November 2002 series topped out at 1GHz. That's (imho) optimistic for any type of design work, and Tiger minimum spec calls for 867MHz w/512M (so you're scraping the bottom edge).
posted by devbrain at 8:06 PM on May 5, 2009

Yeah, that's a neat computer, but not for what you have in mind.
posted by box at 8:11 PM on May 5, 2009

If you were using it just for surfing then maybe, but if you want to run cs3, I'd pass.

You could get a netbook for that price and install os x on it. I think the MSI wind is supposed to be good for os x, but maybe do some checking.
posted by meta87 at 8:13 PM on May 5, 2009

nthing no. RAM will run you another $50 and battery another $120 or so. at most, that will be a 1GHz G4. save the money and buy something newer.