Join 3,497 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Whether and where to study law in this economy?
May 5, 2009 1:03 AM   Subscribe

Is starting law school (on loans) a terrible idea right now? Is getting an LLB in the UK/Australia a better idea?

I've been accepted at a top school and am waitlisted at a few others. I don't have any sources of funding, so I'm looking at at least $150k in loans by the time I walk away with a J.D.

I'm hoping for an international career, so I'm not tied to the idea of studying in the US (it's simply convenient because I have an undergraduate degree from the US and a great LSAT score, in addition to citizenship). I understand that an American J.D. would actually be more limiting in terms of international practice than an LLB - is this correct, i.e. could it be both cheaper and better for my career to enter an LLB program abroad?

What difficulties will I face getting a law degree from another country, from applying/getting credit for my undergraduate studies to financing my studies? Where should I consider studying and why? I have other language skills and don't actually prefer to be in an English-speaking country, but don't think I'm fluent enough in another language to practice law in it, so I'd need to consider English-language law programs.
posted by xanthippe to Education (22 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Can you afford to pay for the courses up front if you do them abroad? If you can't, presumably this would be an immediate deal breaker.
posted by ryanbryan at 2:08 AM on May 5, 2009

Based on an informal survey I've taken of a few hundred people in the last decade or two, student loans never killed anyone.

As long as you end up with a degree that makes you employable, it's always worth the debt.

Note: this won't cover those BA's in Music Appreciation.
posted by rokusan at 2:31 AM on May 5, 2009