Hello, external harddrive? Can you hear me now?
April 25, 2009 3:53 PM   Subscribe

How can I get my mac to recognize my external hard drive again?

Disclaimer: I'm pretty new to macs, but would consider myself a competent user.

I have an WD 500gig My Book external hard drive that I use on both my macbook pro (running Mac OS X 10.4.11) and PC. I don't remember ever formatting it, it just worked on both as soon as I plugged it in.

A few days back, the hard drive accidentally unplugged from my mac (aka, I did not eject it). When I plugged it back in, the hard drive would not pop up on the desktop. I'm 99.9% sure that all the hardware is fine-- it still works on the PC, and lights and spins when I plug it in-- and when I go into the System Profiler, the USB says that my external hard drive is attached. (One forum said you can click and force it to manually mount the drive, but I can't figure out how to do that.) I also installed Disk Warrior, which recognizes the hard drive, but says "The directory cannot be rebuilt, the file system is unsupported." There are bullets under that that say " This disk is not a Macintosh disk; This disk does not appear on the desktop; This disk is 465.75GB in size."

Every similar problem I've read about (including this one) turns out to be either hardware or fixable by Disk Warrior. Please help!
posted by veryhappyheidi to Technology (16 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

I had this problem on my Intel Mac Mini, I had to reboot the mac.
posted by dunkadunc at 4:10 PM on April 25, 2009

Yeah, seconding a re-boot before any further investigation.
posted by stumpyolegmcnoleg at 4:15 PM on April 25, 2009

Sorry, should have said: this was about a week ago. I've rebooted with the drive plugged in, not plugged in, different ports, etc. Nothing.
posted by veryhappyheidi at 4:16 PM on April 25, 2009