Join 3,512 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

Can I use Photoshop Elements to design web interfaces?
April 10, 2009 5:02 PM   Subscribe

As a tool for designing web interfaces, is Photoshop Elements comparable to regular Adobe Photoshop?

I am not a designer but am looking to get into it. I have read that you can design pages with Photoshop. Well I don't really want to shell out for that, but Elements is cheaper. I just need to know if it is comparable.

For that matter can I design in GIMP?

I do not currently know how to use any Adobe products to speak of.

Offer any other pertininent advice you have :)
posted by zorro astor to Computers & Internet (21 answers total) 7 users marked this as a favorite

You can design websites in really anything that has basic drawing tools, so it comes down to how expressive you want your program and how you personally like the application. Photoshop is versatile and powerful, but not necessarily the best tool for everyone designing websites.

To that end, why not just try out the different applications to see if they'll work for you? GIMP is free, of course. But if you create an account on their website, Adobe lets you download trial versions of both Elements and the regular version of Photoshop (or, uh, "Extended," whatever that is). To learn the tools, YouTube is pretty good -- here's an example of a tutorial video (I just searched for "photoshop tutorial beginners").
posted by spiderskull at 5:35 PM on April 10, 2009

10 Free Web-based Alternatives to Photoshop
posted by Blazecock Pileon at 5:55 PM on April 10, 2009 [1 favorite]

I design wireframes (seriously) with Paint (in Windows). Its amazing how on-topic you can keep people when the font size isnt even an issue (which is important when your talking about vague wire frames)

But really -- any tool in the right hands is usable to create web interfaces.
posted by SirStan at 6:02 PM on April 10, 2009 [1 favorite]