Join 3,365 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

things cadbury never taught me about
April 7, 2009 6:42 AM   Subscribe

Advise-an-alien-filter: Easter version

I've been invited for Easter dinner or late afternoon coffee (or something) at the house of (not immediate) family that I am just beginning beginning to reconnect with. I know what Easter commemorates, I know about bunnies and eggs and baskets--but I'm not Catholic (or Christian), and don't know what the protocol of the day is.

I'll be confronted with some awkwardness of meeting relatives that I hardly know (but would like to), and a holiday I don't know much about - so I'm a little worried. What do I wear? What should I bring? What should I *not* bring? Would should I expect if I attend Easter dinner with them? Are there foods that are traditional "Easter dinner" foods? Would it be weird if I go later in the day, for coffee? (They invited me for either)? What should I do to be respectful? What other random Easter advice do you have for me?

Thank you for all help in advance!!
posted by raztaj to Human Relations (26 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

--You might want to dress up a little (don't go crazy, but don't go in a t-shirt, jeans, hoodie and sneakers if you're over the age of 22-- khakis or cords with a sweater or blouse/button down should be fine) so you're not self-conscious if this is one of those families that gets a little cleaned up for holiday meals.

--Ask your host what you can bring-- only because it might be one of those situations where they'll have so much on hand they don't want guests bringing anything at all. Otherwise, a dessert or sweet bread is always a good option (a banana bread or cookies can always be thrown in the pantry for later as a de facto hostess gift, if they can't use them).