Skip

How to explain a weird orb in photos?
April 1, 2009 5:31 AM   Subscribe

How can I explain this weird orb in my photos? A ghost, maybe.

I'm curious what causes this effect in the imagines I take with my DSLR... it doesn't seem to have anything to do with the lighting (they appear also in low-light, indoor settings), but I'm a real novice.

Thanks a lot!
posted by mateuslee to Media & Arts (25 answers total)

A few other examples
posted by mateuslee at 5:37 AM on April 1, 2009

The first things that come to mind are dirt on the sensor and light leaks.
posted by dunkadunc at 5:42 AM on April 1, 2009

Speck of dirt or dust on the glass, I'd wager.
posted by Elmore at 5:42 AM on April 1, 2009

I always thought they were reflections of dust. I might be wrong though.
posted by ydontusteponit at 5:42 AM on April 1, 2009

Visually, it looks a lot like lens flare to me. But you say it happens indoors where there are likely no very bright light sources.
posted by musicinmybrain at 5:44 AM on April 1, 2009

It could be a flaw on the glass. I doubt it's on the sensor because of the change in size (unless you've upsized the photos). Do you have any other lenses, or know anyone with the same type of camera, to rule out whether it's to do with the lens or camera body?
posted by Elmore at 5:44 AM on April 1, 2009

Looks like lens flare, but the fact that it is orange in every picture makes me wonder. Lens flare can definitely happen inside; in fact I would say it is more common there because of all the light sources in most rooms, one or more of which is likely to be aligned with the lens.
posted by TedW at 5:55 AM on April 1, 2009

Unfocus your lens and point at a solid white wall, then examine the viewfinder for any weirdness while rotating the camera relative to the light source. Take a few photos (disable auto-focus) this way, then examine each carefully on the computer. Anything?
posted by odinsdream at 6:25 AM on April 1, 2009