Is my car insurance this much lower now that I've moved to a new state?
November 9, 2004 8:31 AM   Subscribe

Holy crap. Someone pinch me, or at least tell me my car insurance really isn't this lower in a new state. (more inside)

I recently moved from New Jersey to Virginia. In Jersey, I lived with my family, where a parent is the legal owner of my car and I'm a driver on her policy. My personal rate was about $2,000 a year, and that's with benefits of being part of a long-term 20-year member's policy.

I'm looking into buying the car from the parent (therefore making it mine, officially), registering the car in Virginia, and getting insurance down there. My driving record isn't perfect- one speeding ticket, and two accidents over five years, the most recent unfortunately being declared "my fault" because the cop filing the report was, to my understanding, mentally retarded (an 18-wheeler cut me off and crushed the right side of my car; the cop decided I drove into him. I'm not kidding.)

Regardless, I did one of those online rate quote thingies... AIG Direct gave me an expected "well I'm screwed because of my record" quote of about $3,800 a year, but Geico and a few places I never heard of quoted me around $1,400... and that's with my record, and with 23-year-old me as the owner of my own car.

I've never experienced auto insurance outside the financial hell that is New Jersey... are those lower end numbers feasable, or did I seriously enter a number wrong somewhere on the form? Do any DC-area folks know offhand the average car insurance rates?

As a secondary question, I actually was wondering if, legally, VA would even know about incidents from NJ. If I'm a (technically) new driver in VA with a newly-registered car with my first personal insurance policy, would a VA-based insurance company even know? Or does that carry state-to-state? I know some states don't report traffic violations, but not sure about accident/insurance info.