Join 3,558 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

LEARN FRENCH!
February 2, 2009 10:15 AM   Subscribe

I have some money saved up, I am a Canadian citizen, and I have a strong desire to learn French properly. But how?

I'm thinking I should do some sort of immersion program followed by living/working in Montreal. I could go to Quebec for an immersion program-- I could even go to France. What, in your opinion, is the best way to go about this? Any particular programs to recommend? Any tips?

Thanks, as always, in advance.
posted by Lemon of Byzantium to Education (27 answers total) 11 users marked this as a favorite

I should add that I'm a semi-recent university graduate.
posted by Lemon of Byzantium at 10:16 AM on February 2, 2009

If you've spent a term as a full time student this (academic) year, the Canadian government will pay for you to take a five-week immersion course.
posted by limon at 10:22 AM on February 2, 2009 [2 favorites]

Incidentally, even if you don't qualify for Explore, you can enroll in any of the institutions they work for as a private student. Their list is a pretty good place to start your search for a good program.
posted by limon at 10:24 AM on February 2, 2009

I moved to Quebec City for 6 months. Worked like a charm. I took this course at Laval, then I got a job through a temp agency for a few months.

I chose Quebec City because it is a city (albeit small) but it is much, much less anglophone than Montreal. Many of the people I met there did not speak English at all. Plus, super beautiful.

Laval will help find accommodation for you. I chose to live in the downtown, rather than near the University, and I was happy with that choice.
posted by girlpublisher at 10:25 AM on February 2, 2009