Join 3,433 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Tags:

Husband miscarriage woe
January 31, 2009 12:26 AM   Subscribe

Post-miscarriage expectations.

Over Christmas we found out that my wife was pregnant. She miscarried this past weekend. I'm a bit of a rookie at the whole thing - it was to be our first. Consequently I told 10 or so of my close friends, my boss at work, a few family members etc that we were pregnant. I'd seen the stats, but...it was such a new and different and exciting thing that I guess I didn't really temper my expectations.

I guess this will be long before the actual question, but hey - fuck it. I'd like to get this out and down 'cause I've had a shitty, shitty week.

I'm struggling to find a balance between the 'ah gee kid this happens all the time' and 'we had some and now we have kids' and 'it happened for a good reason' etc. I don't want to hear that shit. In some ways I know we've only had a 3-4 month setback (we got pregnant first cycle) but on the other hand I feel like we lost a baby, plain and simple...and I don't know how I'm supposed to feel. I don't really know what's appropriate. I know I should only answer to myself and my wife - but I'm struggling at work to even string 10 minutes of focus together. Is this something I should have expected? Rather than had to 'suffer'? Our culture tells us almost nothing about these things.

I just feel totally spaced out - that's the best way I can describe it. I've been shaken in a number of ways, most notably that I don't have any trust in this pregnancy process anymore. I don't know that it'll be any different the next time, and I've suddenly lost trust in a lot of things around me - in the way people's secrets leak out after something like this, as well as the slow, innocence-eroding realisation, since becoming an adult, that the world isn't quite as rosy as it's made out to be.