Join 3,411 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

What do I do with artichoke hearts?
January 27, 2009 2:06 PM   Subscribe

I have a can of artichoke hearts and would like some thoughts on using them in a green salad or another appetizer-y idea.

I am an artichoke heart novice. Are canned artichokes straight out of the can any good in salads? I have some nice greens and homemade Caesar dressing already and was thinking about adding the artichoke to the salad for a dish at a dinner party. Do they just get rinsed and thrown in? Sauteed? Chopped up? If that sounds gross, what else can I do with the artichoke hearts that would be a quick and easy appetizer? Normally I'd just experiment and see what happened but since I'm making dinner for friends, I'd like to have a better idea of what would be yummy to others.
posted by otherwordlyglow to Food & Drink (22 answers total) 7 users marked this as a favorite

Many italian restaurants use artichoke hearts in their salads.

However, my favorite way to use Artichokes is in artichoke spinach dip. It is very easy to make, and goes great with italian bread, tortilla chips or crackers.
posted by Brettus at 2:14 PM on January 27, 2009

The canned ones, packed in water, aren't really very good by themselves. They're pretty mushy and bland. Where they *normally* end up is in artichoke dip. The marinated ones, in the jar and packed in oil, are much better for eating in salads and such.

You could probably make a pretty good cream of artichoke soup with the canned ones. You want a preparation where it's going to be okay for them to be soft.

Artichoke dip recipe posted on request, though you could easily google a bunch too.
posted by mudpuppie at 2:19 PM on January 27, 2009

Quick sautee in olive oil with tomatoes (chopped or cherry/grape, your preference) + garlic + good olives
posted by jckll at 2:21 PM on January 27, 2009