Skip

Creative cost saving ideas inside small governments?
January 13, 2009 5:48 PM   Subscribe

Especially now, during this time of economic downtown, it would seem to me that many small cities across the nation are probably struggling with budget shortfalls. Are their online resources, forums or blogs that deal with collecting and discussing creative cost-saving measures for small cities ? I'd be especially interested in internal measures as opposed to citizen-related (external) programs, but any good links for either type would be appreciated.

The city I work for has an internal program for soliciting ideas about cost savings. I'd like to submit some well-prepared and solidly researched ideas (to increase the chances of my ideas being accepted). I've done a small amount of preliminary internet searches but I'm not a financier by trade so I am pretty sure I'm not using the correct terminology (thus my searches are only returning spotty isolated case results/studies).

Although I've found a few singular city websites that list a minimal description of cost saving projects - what I'm really interested in are "collective" type forums (or similar) where the Pros and Cons of various cost saving ideas are discussed. (if a forum-beast of this type even exists).

If something like that doesnt exist, I'm willing to put in the work bookmarking and reading various blogs/websites to collate the information. What I'm worried about is finding isolated cases and then having to figure out "would that work for us?". (as opposed to finding a collective type forum where I could see better solutions that worked for multiple cities across the nation)

4 day work weeks?, Using hybrid cars?... Creating an "Innovation Team" that interviews various internal city departments to find wasteful processes and generates ideas to bring more efficiency? Intra-net website ideas that promote city-employee involvement/discussion?