Join 3,524 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

How do I cook a turkey roast?
January 2, 2009 8:06 AM   Subscribe

How in the heck do I cook a turkey roast for maximum deliciousness?

I am hosting a small dinner party tonight and plan to serve turkey. A trip to my local grocery store to pick up supplies last night made me discover that I don't have time to thaw a frozen bird, so I bought about 6 pounds of raw turkey roast. I have zero experience cooking turkey and am completely puzzled on how to cook this so that it is delicious. My initial googling for this brings some baffling and exotic sounding recipes or suggestions for cooking an entire bird. I don't want to include cranberries, curry, bacon or sausage in my recipe. How do I cook this thing so that it tastes good?
posted by pluckysparrow to Food & Drink (20 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

did you buy a breast? what is turkey roast? I need some more info to help you
posted by chickaboo at 8:10 AM on January 2, 2009

What's a turkey roast?

When dealing with the whole bird or with a breast, I usually brine it, following Alton Brown's recipe.
posted by cooker girl at 8:12 AM on January 2, 2009

A recent issue of Cooks Illustrated had a delicious, absolutely delicious recipe for herbed chicken. I have cooked it several times since then with great success. I've also tried it on Turkey and got rave compliments.

Here's the original recipe (requires online subscription)

But, this blog post seems to be the same recipe.
posted by brandnew at 8:17 AM on January 2, 2009 [1 favorite]

Folks, I assume pluckysparrow means a turkey roast which looks like this. You can easily cook them in the oven, basting them to keep them from going dry.
posted by vacapinta at 8:21 AM on January 2, 2009