Join 3,421 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

Free tuition? Nah...
October 28, 2008 7:59 PM   Subscribe

How do I best explain to my employer, a prestigious & expensive American Ivy League school, that I won't be taking advantage of the incomparable tuition discount and will instead finish my masters with a small-but-well-regarded British polytechnic?

I love my job! I raise money for a living and have done so for about three years. This job is perfect for the kind of stewardship training I need to back up the direct mail and internet giving experience I already have.

One of the reasons I decided to do my MA with a British school is that I can't transfer the credits I already have to a program where I work. A university there offered to let me finish my dissertation with them so long as I come for one week of discussion and then come when it is reviewed to make a defense. This is reasonable, the school has a sterling reputation in the field I was in when I learned fundraising, and I have already done all of the coursework leading up to the dissertation - so the process will be vetted all the way through for irregularities and I will be in constant contact with an adviser.

My boss has been hounding me not to start a degree yet. She thinks classes and work will be a strain. I heartily agree and want to tell her I have found other options. But I worry she will misconstrue it to mean I am looking another job or will soon go back into my previous industry. This isn't the case.

Please help me make that crystal clear to her and this university.
posted by anonymous to Work & Money (7 answers total)

Sounds like you've got your discussion all laid out, the above all seems very reasonable. What's the problem?
posted by RustyBrooks at 8:02 PM on October 28, 2008

My boss has been hounding me not to start a degree yet.

"I've already been working on one, actually - I've got all the credits already and just need to finish my dissertation!"