Skip

Absentee Ballot Counting
October 20, 2008 9:37 AM   Subscribe

What's the policy for opening absentee ballots? Are all ballots opened, or are they only opened when they are expected to be statistically significant?

I'm a naive college student and I'm voting absentee for the first time. I sent in my ballot yesterday, and I have to say I did appreciate the convenience and time to read over the ballot and research everything on it. However, I think I remember reading somewhere that sometimes absentee ballots are not opened when they aren't expected to be statistically significant, and that some types of ballots are opened before others.

Is this true? If so, how small a gap is too small for new ballots to be statistically insignificant? Would it only be in the case that the final result could not add up otherwise, or could votes not expected to turn the election either way be excluded based only on that prediction?

I'm sure this varies from state to state. I heard from my great aunt that they vote by absentee ballot by default in Oregon, and that other states are considering switching to voting entirely by mail. I'm interested in every state, but I'm most interested in the state I'm registered, NJ.
posted by mccarty.tim to Law & Government (10 answers total)

All votes are counted, no matter what.
posted by Class Goat at 9:46 AM on October 20, 2008

The vote totals you see reported on election night on TV may not include absentee ballots. However, regardless of whether they're expected to be significant or not, the absentee ballots are all opened and counted. The truly official vote totals are generally released by the individual states' Secretaries of State, but that may not happen until days or weeks after the election.
posted by DevilsAdvocate at 9:51 AM on October 20, 2008

Thanks. Like I said, I'm naive, but I'm glad to hear my vote will be counted.
posted by mccarty.tim at 10:04 AM on October 20, 2008