Join 3,512 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

How was this kitchen knife made?
September 14, 2008 7:43 AM   Subscribe

[ManufacturingFilter] I have a kitchen knife that looks like solid metal, but it's far too light. How was it made?

The knife is 210mm (8.5") end-to-end, stainless steel, and reasonably inexpensive. I cannot see any marks indicating that the blade and handle are anything but a single solid bit of metal - but were that the case, the handle would be very heavy, which it is not.

I've heard that hollow silver knife handles used to be made by producing two halves, soldering them together, then polishing until the mark was invisible. I can't see any sign of that here, although I'm no expert on what to look for.
posted by Mike1024 to Technology (9 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Care to share a picture or two?

It is possible that the handle is spun and so one piece and hollow. This would require it to be symmetrical about the axis of the knife, however. It theoretically could also have been cast, and the blade inserted with some filler material into one end. Without pictures it is impossible to say.
posted by Brockles at 8:13 AM on September 14, 2008

Crap, I missed the link, sorry. Morning brain hitting me.

There are significant polishing marks on the knife that would easily hide any welds. I suspect the handle is hollow and the blade is welded in. There is nothing about it that suggests to me that it couldn't be of several parts. A proper (especially machine-) weld can be ground down to effectively invisible if done properly. Any mark of the weld (ie a line) would be a sign of poor welding, rather than 'normal evidence of process".
posted by Brockles at 8:17 AM on September 14, 2008