Legality of 30 days notice in CA
September 10, 2008 7:27 AM Subscribe
California Tenant Law Question: Do you have to give 30 days notice if you have a lease and it ends before then?
posted by anonymous to Law & Government (6 answers total)
Here's the situation: I have a 12-month lease which ends on October 5th. I had assumed that the default situation was that if I told them nothing, it would be assumed that I would be moving out on that date. Only today (September 9th) did I notice a clause in my lease which states that I must give 30 days notice, and I will automatically be rolled over into a month-to-month deal once my lease ends. Therefore I am on the hook for an extra $150 to rent that apartment on the 6th, 7th, and 8th of October.
What I want to know: are terms like this legal under California tenant law? I'll eat the money if I have to, but I wonder about the legality of this.