Learning French in North and West Africa
September 4, 2008 9:32 PM   Subscribe

I want to learn French in Morocco/Mauritania/Mali - I need suggestions of a place to live...

I have a certain sum of money, my job ends in two weeks, and I'm flying to Spain/Morocco. I would like to travel south through Mauritania and into Mali - but I speak no French. Any suggestions along that route - a smallish but not metropolis city, French speaking - where I can hole up for awhile, rent a very basic (read:cheap) room with a French speaking family and learn via immersion? (I speak Portuguese, self taught in said manner).
posted by iamck to Travel & Transportation around Bucharest, Romania (7 answers total)

French isn't really the language of most families in North Africa except maybe the richest and most pretentious. They speak Arabic at home. They CAN speak French for the most part but they don't speak it among themselves at home. That said, you can probably get by using English in most of North Africa and West Africa...French would be better but they often know a lot of English.

See if there is a French family you can stay with, where you can work on your French.
posted by kenzi23 at 10:55 PM on September 4, 2008

Mali's a great place to visit, but I don't know if I'd want to live there for any extended period of time. In particular, I found the food to be absolutely fucking awful, in the sense that it was extremely basic & extremely bland. Any meat that could be found was tougher than a biker's jacket, but for the most part it was flavourless pulses with rice, with plenty of crunchy dirt inevitably mixed in.