Join 3,382 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

How much to design a banner ad in UK?
September 1, 2008 6:07 AM   Subscribe

Standard price for designing a banner ad in the UK?

I was dealing with a somewhat-shady seeming potential client who wanted a quote for banner ad design. Figuring the rock-bottom rate for respectable design in the UK at £15, factoring for a minimum of two hours design time and one hour correspondence and waffling with the client, and then adding £5 for negotiating room, I said £50 pounds for a standard banner. If they hadn't given me signs that they were angling for freebies, I probably would have quoted something lower. As it is, they balked as if I was asking for blood. Have I been wildly unreasonable here? What would you guys charge?
posted by nímwunnan to Work & Money (6 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Nope, not unreasonable. £15 is a very low rate for professional design, as you say. In my own career as a designer, I have found that most laymen don't understand what a designer does or why the finished product benefits from a pro designer, and they are therefore prone to imagining some arbitrary relationship between the size of the finished product and the price. "£50 for a tiny little banner ad?", they cry, thinking you are trying to rip them off.

Don't feel bad. If you're serious about working as a designer you don't need clients that like. If you're really in need of the money, you should do the work first and try to sell it based on how awesome a job you did. It's easier for most people to see the value of something when it's already in front of them.
posted by chudmonkey at 6:59 AM on September 1, 2008

£15 is far too low a rate imho. 2 hours to design is a little too high though.

For a banner ad I'd probably charge in and around £50 also, but that would be estimating on an hour total.